GOSUMEC ALUMNI ASSOCIATION



Seth G.S. Medical College & K.E.M. Hospital, Parel, Mumbai 400 012

Tel.No:2 412 9099; e-mail:nostalgia@kem.edu Reg.No. F 36688 Mumbai, 12A Reg.No. TR/42609

ANNUAL REPORT Jan.2015-Dec 2015

The office bearers and managing committee members of Gosumec Alumni Association from January 2015 to September 2015 are as follows:

Hon. President: Dean Dr. AN Supe Hon. Vice President: Dr. Sharad Gogate

Hon. Secretaries: Dr. Gita Nataraj, Dr. Ram Prabhoo Hon. Jt. Secretary: Dr. Manjula Sarkar, Dr. Janak Shah

Hon. Treasurer: Dr. N.N. Rege,

Managing Committee members: Dr. Lopa Mehta, Dr. PD Mungekar, Dr. M Natarajan, Dr. Sandhya Kamat, Dr. Aparna Deshpande, Dr. Ajay Tilwe, Dr. Vaibhav Dedhia, Dr. Sunil Puntambekar, Dr. Mohan

Kembhavi, Dr. Taral Nagda, Dr. Ashish Phadnis.

New Managing Committee was formed for the year 2015-2017 was as follows.

Post- Office Bearers:

President – Dean Dr. A N Supe

Vice President - Dr. Sharad Gogate & Dr. Manjula Sarkar

Hon. Secretaries – Dr. Ram Prabhoo & Dr. Gita Nataraj

Hon. Secretaries- Dr. Janak Shah Hon. Treasurer - Dr. NN Rege

Post - Managing Committee member

Staff (5/6) - Dr. M Natarajan, Dr. SK Kamat, Dr. AA Deshpande, Dr. DG Kurle & Dr. Vyanktesh Gosumecs (8/12)- Dr. Lopa Mehta, Dr. Sunil Puntambekar, Dr. Ajay Tilwe, Dr. Vaibhav Dedhia, Dr. Mohan Kembhavi, Dr. Taral Nagda, Dr. Ashish Phadnis, Dr. Toru Gupta

• Presently, the association has 4702 members. The period January 2015 to Dec 2015, saw an addition of 87 life members & 1 Patron member.

• Donation Received -

- Rs. 60000/- was given by Dr. Torulata Brijlal Gupta for organising Dr. Brijlal Gupta Memorial Scholarship for needy UG student
- Rs. 481200/- was given by Dr. Sandra & Avi Nash for awarding Merit-based Scholarships for Needy Medical students at G.S. Medical College
- Rs. 450000/- was given by Dr. Sandra & Avi Nash for Financial Support for Implants for Needy patients of KEM Hospital

• Donation Received for Archive & Needy students

- Dr. Kailash Pawar Rs.1,00,000/-
- Hansa Parikh Rs.16000/- in memory of Late Dr. Jayant Parikh
- Mr. Kapil R Kalekar Rs. 7000/-
- Dr. Suhas Purushottam Namjoshi Rs. 50000/- for Radiology & GAA activity

Educational Activity:

Student scholarships:

■ Indira Foundation Scholarship – Full freeship

Rs. 76305/- each given to 2 students i.e. Nisha Pattewar & Priyanka Patile – I yr MBBS Rs. 93000/- each given to 2 students i.e. Hiba G Narvel & Nidhisha S Bajaj – II yr. MBBS

Indira Foundation Scholarship – Half freeship

Rs. 38153/- each given to 2 students i.e. Pawan Daga & Ashutosh Goyal – I yr MBBS Rs. 46500/- each given to 2 students i.e. Gauri S Singh & Anu Roop Rajani - II yr. MBBS

Dr. Brijlal Gupta Scholarship

Rs. 30000/- given to Sujay Jaju - I yr. MBBS

Rs. 30000/- given to Anu Roop Rajani - II yr. MBBS

Gosumec Alumni Association corpus for poor boys awarded Ashish Chaudhary, Ankit Solanki, Govinda Goyal, Samrat Kumar, Shruti Patil, Avinash Pawar, Bhavesh Rathi, Rajkumar Lodhwal, Rajib Giri, Geetanjali Patil, Kalyani Wani, Sachin Rathod, Hemesh Sarode, Yogita Kokate, Sampada Nagre, Rucha Bendale, Pratiksha Shinde, Shrutika Khandekar, Bhagatsing Meher, Parth Dhende, Mohammed Hasan Nihal Ahmed, Nitin Sonare. Annual Scholarship of Rs. 10000/-each each from Gosumec Alumni Association corpus fund viz. Dr. Kero Fund, Mrs. Dalal Fund & 1987 Batch Fund. Total Rs. 260000/-spent towards scholarship during Jan.2015-Dec 2015

Books amounting to Rs 68446/- were donated to library from Gosumec Alumni Association corpus fund - 1987 Batch fund.

Awards & Honors: The Dr R B Redkar Memorial awardees for the year who were felicitated on foundation day (22/1/15) included Dr. Pravin Bangar (Administrative Medical Officer), Mr. Dattatray Jadhav (Hospital Office Administrator) and Mr. Santosh Nagaonkar (College Office Administrator).

Social and extra curricular Activities:

- GAA donated Rs 15,000.00 towards printing & publication of GOSUMAG 2014, the UG magazine
- GAA sponsored Rs. 11827/- for Community based health camp with PSM department.
- GAA organized Blood Donation Camp with Blood Bank and spent Rs. 61503/- for two camps expenses.
- Cultural Activity: On Foundation Day, 24th January 2015, a contributory Annual Lunch was organized with entertainment followed by Games in College lawn by Staff Society.
- Donation of Rs. 50,000.00 given to JPGM Conference for JPGM app.
- GAA has given contribution of Rs.160000/- to Miscot for scanning of UG PG record digitalization.

Patient care:

Rs. 50000/- each given to following patients for Financial Support for Implants for Needy patients of KEM Hospital from total donation of Rs. 450000/- received from Indira Foundation.

Ananta Zinjal, Neelam Panvelkar, Mr. Praksh Lad, Lavesh R Patil, Mehjabeen Siddiqui, Murad K Varose, Niwas Karekar, Kisan Pokharkar, Asha B Chilap.

Donation received for instituting an endowment chair in medical humanity in the name of Dr. Manu VL Kothari -

Name of the Donor	Amount
Niteingale Charitable Trust	2000000
Mandke Foundation (Ambani)	1100000
Dr. Jyoti Manu Kothari	1000000
Harish Kothari & family	1000000
Mahindra & Mahindra Finance Service Ltd	200000
Jayashree Sunil Joshi	100001
Kumudini Devi Khaitan Samvedna Trust	100000
Dr. Sunil N Mody	100000
Dr. Sujata Baveja	100000
Excel Industries Ltd	100000
Excel Crop Care Ltd	100000
Pirojsha Godrej Foundation	100000
Dr. Umesh Shah	50000
Gulserene N Dastur	30000
Dr.Manoj D Singrakhia	25000
Dr.Avinash Deshmukh	25000

M. Ramesh & Co.	25000
Dr. Bindu T Desai	25000
Ms. Ritabelle Fernandes	25000
Mr. Krishan Premnarayen	21000
Dr. M Natarajan	10001
Dr. Nina R Bheda	10001
Shrenik V Shah	10000
Mr. Abhijit Mukherjee	10000
Mr. Jadunath Mukherjee	10000
Mr. Bakul Mehta	10000
Dr. Sucheta Dandekar	5001
Miss Megha H Malvankar	5001
Dr. Russy Batliwalla	5000
Dr. Piyush Shah	5000
Mr. Lalit S Shah	1000
Total Corpus	6307005

• 'Manusmriti Graffiti Competition prizes –

First prize given to Prateek Kapse & Second prize given to Tiyasha Mandal

• "Manusmriti" program held on 16th October 2015 on the first death anniversary of Dr. Manu VL Kothari. Panel discussion was held on "Art & Science of Medical Practise. The panelists were the staff members who are the students of Dr. Manu VL Kothari. IT was chared by Dr. Sunil Pandya. A Book written by Dr. Manu Kothari (co-author – Dr. Lopa Mehta) was release by Dr. Sunil Pandya. The program was sponsored by Gosumec Alumni of 1988 batch. Donation given to DJST.

Scientific Activity:

- The Dr. Sindhu R Pandit Memorial Oration for the year 2015 was delivered by Dr. Anil Karapurkar (Neurosurgeon) titled "Advances in Treatment of Acute Ischaemic Stroke" on the Foundation Day.
- Jointly organized scientific orations –

ORACON 15: 21st January, 2015- MLT

Dr. U.K. Sheth Oration delivered by Dr. Chittaranjan Andrade on "Understanding Neuroplasticity as a Mechanism of Antidepressant Action" Chairpersons: Dr SR Parkar

Dr. Sindhu R Pandit Oration delivered by Dr. Anil Karapurkar on "Advances in Treatment of Acute Ischaemic Stroke" Chairpersons: Dr. Atul Goel, Dr. Sunil Pandya

ORACON 15: 15th April, 2015- MLT

Dr. M. D. Motashaw Oration delivered by Dr. Mohan Rajapurkar on "Catalytic Iron (a novel biomarker) in Heart and Kidney Injury". Chairpersons: Dr. Ashok Kirplani, Dr. Alan Almeida

Dr. T.O. Shah Oration delivered by Dr. Subramania Iyer on "The sure way to success-Build up a team" Chairperson: Dr. Vinita Puri

ORACON 15: 19th August, 2015- MLT

Dr. Ivan Pinto Oration delivered by Dr. Sudhansu Bhattacharyya on "Total Arterial Revascularisation using LIMA – RIMA Y Graft- Aorta Free" Chairpersons: Dr. G B Parulkar, Dr. Satyavan Sharma, Dr. V. N. Bagadia Oration delivered by Dr. Prabha Chandra on "Life has to be understood backwards – New discoveries bridging women's mental health and society". Chairpersons: Dr. H. S. Dhavale,

Dr. J. S. Apte

Dr. Gita Nataraj Hon. Secretary